NaSTA is an association that unites nearly 50 student television stations across the UK. Working with partners across different areas of student life and the television industry, we are a representative body designed and governed by student television, for student television.


Every year over 40 student TV stations enter the NaSTA Awards, the most prestigious and longest running student TV awards in the UK with 20 categories recognising all aspects of television production. The NaSTA Conference & Awards is the highlight of the student television calendar. Students, alumni and industry leaders meet together for a weekend conference with industry sessions, networking and challenges, culminating with the prestigious awards ceremony. The 2020 Awards will be hosted by QuaysTV.


Student television in the UK is over 50 years old and NaSTA itself has been going for over 45 years. We have grown from an annual meeting of a few stations showing off their videos to a community of 48 stations regularly working together and sharing ideas. We organise the longest running student media awards in the country, run regional events across the UK, help students meet, learn from and network with television professionals and help our member stations develop their content, audience and stations.


Affiliated stations


Years of Student TV


Annual Conference Delegates


Award entries submitted this year

NaSTA Projects.

NaSTA hosts national and regional events connecting student TV stations with each other and with industry. NaSTA also helps oversee collaborative national broadcasts that lets one station lead an exciting production that other stations submit content for and some even contribute live!

Affiliated stations of the National Student Television Association are divided into regions of the country. Each region has a Regional Development Officer who is responsible for engaging with stations within their region and organising regional events for members of stations within the region. The regional structure helps NaSTA ensure that its activities are spread across the nation to benefit all stations.

  • Scotland

  • Northern England

  • Eastern England

  • West Midlands

  • Wales and Wales

  • London and Home Counties

  • South Coast

The Teams Behind NaSTA.

NaSTA is a body run by volunteers from within student television and those who have moved on to successful careers in the industry. One thing unites them all — the love of seeing students succeed in making television. They all work to develop opportunities for stations and link individuals with partners in the television industry.

The NaSTA Exec is made up of 7 elected members who look after specific areas of the organisation. They are led this year by Chair Edwin Barnes.

Working with the elected Development Officer, Regional Development Officers are appointed to help develop a specific number of stations within a geographical area. They also look after running regional conferences and events.

In 2019 the conference and awards will be brought to you by the University of Nottingham’s station: NSTV and will be held around Easter 2019. Led by host officer Joe McGeehan, the team will be bringing you fantastic conference sessions by industry experts at the number one Students’ Union in the UK.

The Student Television Alumni Network (STAN) was formerly known as PaSTA. Up until 2016 it was an organisation within NaSTA, and an Alumni Officer sat on the NaSTA Executive Committee as a non-executive member. In 2016 it was decided to split the two organisations, to help both bodies achieve their aims, which will in turn benefit their respective members.