The Executive

The NaSTA Executive consists of seven elected members. They have considerable experience in student media and represent Student television to the industry, sponsors and the NUS, offering their expertise on a variety of subjects such as Student union-relations, management, technical support and marketing advice.

The NaSTA executive has existed since the 2009/10 academic year since then the roles have evolved and transformed to become more focused on networking and support to the rest of NaSTA, each specialising in their own field.

Each member of the of the exec is elected by popular vote of all the affiliated stations at the NaSTA conference. Each vote is over seen by the returning officer and the results are announced at the NaSTA awards ceremony.

The Team

Edwin Barnes


Edwin recently graduated from the University of York with a degree in Philosophy, Politics and Economics. While there he spent countless hours as a part of YSTV, becoming first Production Director, then Station Director. He loves big livestream events, and led coverage of the Roses Varsity in both 2017 and 2019, working closely with members of LA1TV including Ben and Tom, the outgoing Chair and Technical Officers. Talking of working with NaSTA Exec members, Edwin joined YSTV at the same time as new Technical Officer Tom, and they have worked together closely to grow and improve YSTV for the last three years. Edwin is excited about the challenges ahead as Chair, and has some exciting ideas he hopes to bring to fruition. He loves talking to stations, and would love you to chat to him about anything and everything TV related!

Emma Jacobs

Industry Liaison

Emma is in her final year of studying Journalism (BA) at the University of Leeds. She’s just finished a year on the Leeds Student TV committee as Head of News (and was very excited to win the News NaSTA this year). She’s looking forward to liasing with the stations (and industry) and to another fab year of student telly before graduating.

Tom Lee

Technical Officer

Coming in with close ties to our chair, Tom studied Computer Science at The University of York where he held the position of Technical Director at YSTV. Now a freelance broadcast and livestream automation engineer based in Leeds, Tom aims to spend his time as Techical Officer building NaSTA up as a resource for stations on both technical and non-technical matters.

Tom is always available to talk tech, NaSTA, cycling, anything!

Rebecca Brown

Communications Officer

Rebecca recently graduated from Dundee University with an MA in English and Creative Writing. From a young age she enjoyed making videos and short films but chose to take her passion further in University by joining Tay Productions. She served as Deputy Manager in 2017/18 and Station Manager in 2018/19 and started to find she was enjoying her media exploits much more than her real degree, inspiring her to apply for an MLitt in Film, Visual Media and Arts Management. Far from ready to leave student TV, she ran for Communications Officer on the NaSTA Exec with the aim of ensuring others get as much out of student TV as she did. In her role, Rebecca looks forward to talking to all the stations and hearing how NaSTA can work better for everyone. When not running around with a camera, Rebecca enjoys writing, buying books and wandering aimlessly around forests.

Matthew Hudson

Returning Officer

Matthew studied History and Politics at the University of Kent. During his time there he was part of KTV. He got involved with student television having been encouraged to by his flatmate, Maisie Golding. As part of KTV he led the news department. He also increased the amount of content being made on the Medway campus, a satellite campus, including overseeing KTV go live for the first time from Medway. While on his Year Abroad his friend, Selsabil Beloued, developed this into a fully fledged department which he had the pleasure of promoting at the 2018 Medway Freshers Fayre. He also was involved in the 24 Hour live stream done to raise money for the charity Books2Africa by KTV, SUSU TV and Forge TV, which was organised by Maisie, and raised enough money to send over 1,000 books to Africa.

Matthew was elected to the role of Returning Officer at the 2019 AGM. This was after having run the committee elections for Towson University Badminton Club during his Year Abroad.

Matthew can be reached at [email protected] for any questions about NaSTA rules and guidelines.